skip navigation

AAA Showdown: '06/'07 Championships

By Peter Odney , 06/09/19, 5:30PM CDT


Velocity Black claims 2006 Open title, while the Westwood Warriors take top honors in 2007 Open Division.

Finn De St. Hubert scores for Velocity Black in Sunday's win over the Wisconsin Jr. Stars.

Velocity Black, 2006 Open Division champions.

Champions Crowned on Sunday

The Wisconsin Jr. Stars jumped out to a 2-0 lead in Sunday's 2007 Open Division finals, taking that advantage into the second period before it collapsed like a potluck folding table under the weight of too many casseroles. 

Velocity Black scored the game's next seven goals, with Mason Moe and Finn De St. Hubert leading the way with two goals each. Also scoring in the championship win for Velocity Black were Quintin Schaefer, Adam Thomas, and Johnny Kleis. Prior to the championship game, Velocity Black had allowed just two goals in four games, with both scores coming in Sunday morning's semifinal win over Team Walser. 

It took until the final game of the 2007 Open Division tournament, but the Westwood Warriors finally allowed a goal. The Warriors ran roughshod over the competition this weekend, putting their first three games into running time and earning a 5-0 win over the Red River Ice Dogs in the semifinals before breezing past Team Walser 6-2 in the title game. 

Six players scored in the win for the Warriors, with Nick Anderson pacing the team in points with a goal and two assists. More impressive than the Warriors' offensive efforts was its penalty-killing unit, which held off Team Walser during an extended period of five-on-three time in the game's final minutes.   

The Westwood Warriors, 2007 Open Division champions.

Recent MN YHH News