skip navigation

2020 Minnesota Hockey State Locations

By YHH Staff , 09/05/19, 4:00PM CDT


Edina's Braemar Ice Arena will host Bantam AA and Bantam A, Albertville to host Peewee AA.

St. Paul, MN – September 5, 2019 – Minnesota Hockey today announced the host sites for the 2020 Minnesota Hockey State and Region Tournaments. For the seventh consecutive year, The Drive to State is presented by Chevy, and will be highlighted by 14 State Tournaments hosted by nine communities. Region Tournaments will be played February 28 through March 1, followed by State Tournaments being played March 13 through 15.

The 14 State Tournaments will be played at nine locations throughout Minnesota. The host sites will be Doug Woog Arena in South St. Paul (Junior Gold A, Junior Gold B, Junior Gold 16), Braemar Arena in Edina (Bantam AA, Bantam A), New Ulm Civic Center in New Ulm (Bantam B, Peewee B), STMA Ice Arena in Albertville (Peewee AA), Moose Sherritt Ice Arena in Monticello (Peewee A), Cullen Hockey Center in Moorhead (15U A), Rochester Recreation Center and Graham Arena in Rochester (15U B, 12U B) and St. Croix Valley Recreation Center in Stillwater (12U A). The 19U location will be determined soon.

Courtesy of Minnesota Hockey

Osseo-Maple Grove captured the Bantam AA state championship last season in Moorhead.

2020 State Tournament Locations

Level Location
Bantam AA Edina
Bantam A Edina
Bantam B New Ulm
Peewee AA Albertville
Peewee A Monticello
Peewee B New Ulm
15UA Moorhead
15UB Rochester
12UA Stillwater
12UB Rochester
Junior Gold A South St. Paul
Junior Gold B South St. Paul
Junior Gold 16U South St. Paul

Orono took the state Peewee B title last year in Plymouth.

Regional Notes

Minnesota Hockey’s Region Tournaments will expand to feature 35 tournaments at 29 locations across Minnesota this season as teams look to qualify for State. The Minnesota Hockey Board of Directors voted at its 2019 Summer Board meeting to approve the expansion of the 12U A and 12U B classifications to a four Region format in recognition of the impressive growth of girls’ hockey in the state. 

The Metro Hockey League playdowns, which determine Junior Gold State participants, will take place at the Plymouth Ice Center in Plymouth. The 15U B Region Tournaments will be added if needed later this season. 

Courtesy of Minnesota Hockey 

2020 Regional Tournament Locations (Boys)

Level North South East West
Bantam AA Duluth St. Louis Park Stillwater Anoka
Bantam A Proctor Marshall Shakopee Little Falls
Bantam B Cloquet LaCrescent Shakopee Alexandria
Peewee AA Grand Rapids Faribault Woodbury Buffalo
Peewee A Baudette Albert Lea Stillwater Anoka
Peewee B Moose Lake Luverne Minnetonka Benson

Edina Green won the 2019 Bantam B state championship with a 3-0 victory over Rogers.

2020 Regional Tournament Locations (Girls)

Level North South East West
12UA Greenway Faribault Richfield Richfield
12UB Thief River Falls Waseca Fairmount Lakeville

Moose Lake rolled Mankato 7-0 to earn the 12UB state title on 2019.

Level American National Olympic
15UA Blaine Blaine Moorhead

Edina Green, 2019 15UA state champions.

Recent MN YHH News

  • Her Ice: Season 5, Episode 13

  • By Peter Odney 02/01/2023, 1:30pm CST
  • Tony & Peter discuss Ms. Hockey contenders. They also talk Top 10, games of the past, and games of the future (including pick 'ems).
  • Read More