skip navigation

Western States 2019 Preview

By Peter Odney , 09/12/19, 2:15PM CDT


Capsules for each team detailing strengths and players to watch across all levels.

2019 Marks Third Year For Tournament

Entering its third year, the Western States Invite has expanded to three divisions, adding a Peewee level in addition to its Bantam Divisions. Teams from Minnesota, Arizona, Wisconsin, and North Dakota will make their was to the western suburbs of Minneapolis for a weekend of games, played at both Bloomington Ice Garden and the Burnsville Ice Arena. 

Great Plains, based in Minnesota, took home the championship in both the 2004 and 2006 Divisions. With no Great Plains team competing this year at the Bantam level, the field is wide open for a new program to claim the crown.

For full tournament schedules, standings, and player stats, click here

Great Plains swept both championships last season at the Western States Invite.

Recent MN YHH News

  • The Incomers: Minnesota (NCAAW)

  • By Peter Odney 09/30/2022, 3:00pm CDT
  • A versatile former Hill-Murray standout, a 2022 Ms. Hockey finalist, and a fifth-year transfer make up this year's crop of incoming native Minnesotans to the Golden Gopher lineup.
  • Read More
  • The Incomers: Minnesota State (NCAAM)

  • By Kyle McLaughlin 09/22/2022, 12:45pm CDT
  • "The Incomers" is a series of articles from YHH that highlight the Minnesota natives joining one of the state's six Division I men's and women's hockey programs as freshmen.
  • Read More