skip navigation

2020 Bantam Player of the Year

By Peter Odney , 05/06/20, 7:00PM CDT


Despite a shortened campaign, Hermantown's Zam Plante left an indelible mark on the 2019-2020 hockey season.

2020 YHH Bantam Player of the Year - Zam Plante

Plante recorded nearly 200 points during his Bantam AA season with Hermantown.

Zam Plante is the rare player who is universally liked by scouts, coaches, and opponents. 

Scouts like Plante's blend of smarts and skill, bobbing and weaving around the ice, almost jittery with energy and anticipation. 

Coaches like Plante because he doesn't complain. He wants as much ice time as anybody, but when a teammate scores, Plante is first or second in line to congratulate the fellow Hawk. 

Opponents like Plante because there's no real reason to dislike him. He plays hard, never dirty, shakes hands after games genuinely, and has created his own social network over the years during the offseason while playing on travel teams that could rival Facebook.

A first-round pick during Tuesday's USHL Phase I Futures Draft, Plante's talent is undeniable, and he has the production to match. Last summer, during Bantam Elite League play, against some of the county's top players in his age group, Plante scored 11 goals and added 14 assists. He notched a point in every game and led the North Stars to 10 wins and just four losses.

Plante's Hawks had their Bantam AA State Tournament run canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but after leading the Hawks to a 40-6-1 record and totaling 78 goals and 193 points, Plante's case for the Bantam Player of the Year Award could hardly have gotten stronger. 

2020 Bantam POTY Finalists

Finn Brink - Osseo-Maple Grove

Ty Hanson - Hermantown 

Ian Ness - Moorhead

Wyatt Olson - Osseo-Maple Grove

Drew Stewart - Minnetonka

Zam Plante wins Bantam POTY award Wednesday in Hermantown

Past Winners

Year Player Team College NHL Draft Rights
2013 Ryan Zuhlsdorf Edina Minnesota Tampa Bay
2014 Casey Mittelstadt Eden Prairie Minnesota Buffalo
2015 Gavin Hain Grand Rapids North Dakota Philadelphia
2016 Ethan Frisch Moorhead North Dakota N/A
2017 Jake Braccini Buffalo Minnesota N/A
2018 Kyle Kukkonen Osseo-Maple Grove Michigan Tech N/A
2018 Brock Faber Osseo-Maple Grove Minnesota N/A
2019 Max Burkholder Chaska Chanhassen Colorado College N/A

Gavin Hain - 2015 Bantam POTY winner

Recent MN YHH News

  • The Minnesotan Pod - Todd Gutterman

  • By Peter Odney 05/28/2020, 5:45pm CDT
  • The former Forest Lake girls hockey coach chats about his evolution as a hockey parent, his departure from the Ranger program, and how he led the St. Paul City Conference in scoring as a player.
  • Read More
  • Playing poker within hockey

  • By Andy Blaylock 05/24/2020, 2:30pm CDT
  • Hockey trainer Andy Blaylock examines how the methodical card game of skill and chance applies to the world's fastest team sport.
  • Read More