skip navigation

2020 Wiz Wyatt Award

By Peter Odney , 05/19/20, 5:30PM CDT


For the first time in the award's history, the Wiz Wyatt Award moves out of state.


Fargo's O'Neill Selected as Wiz Wyatt Award Winner

The growing metropolitan area of Fargo, North Dakota, sits just over a mile from the Minnesota border, and for the first time, the Youth Hockey Hub Wiz Wyatt Award will glide west of the Red River. 

Andrew O'Neill starred for Fargo Freeze Black throughout the 2019-2020 season, guiding the team to a sparkling record and dogged play against its Minnesota counterparts. O'Neill was routinely one of the best players on the ice during the dozen or so games he and his teammates participated in during YHH events, making those around him better and executing in crucial moments.

During the 2020 Founders Cup, a tournament that features some of the best Peewee AA and Peewee A teams in the upper midwest, O'Neill paced the field in scoring with 14 goals and 19 points, leading Fargo Freeze Black to a 4-1 record. The team's lone loss came in the second round against a talented St. Louis Park team, as Fargo fell 8-7 in overtime against the Orioles. Fargo went on to win three straight games after the defeat, scoring wins over Faribault, Lakeville South, and Minneapolis.    

Since its first year in 2013, the criteria for the Wiz Wyatt Award included top-notch work in the classroom and the caveat that the recipient must participate in multiple sports. 
O'Neill sports a 3.91 grade-point-average while excelling in football and baseball in addition to his hockey prowess, and displays the leadership and determination qualities the Wiz Wyatt Award prizes. 

Fargo Freeze Black's Andrew O'Neill led the 2020 Founders Cup in scoring with 14 goals and 19 points.

Past Winners

2016 winner Kyle Kukkonen with Wiz and OMG coach Curtis Janicke

Year Player Team
2019 Drew Stewart Minnetonka
2018 Zam Plante Hermantown
2017 Brody Lamb Dodge County
2016 Kyle Kukkonen Osseo-Maple Grove
2015 Matthew Gleason St. Paul Capitals
2014 Ben Brinkman Edina
2013 Jack Olsen Lakeville South

2019 Wiz Wyatt Award winner Drew Stewart poses with Wiz Wyatt himself last May.

Recent MN YHH News

  • The Minnesotan Pod - Todd Gutterman

  • By Peter Odney 05/28/2020, 5:45pm CDT
  • The former Forest Lake girls hockey coach chats about his evolution as a hockey parent, his departure from the Ranger program, and how he led the St. Paul City Conference in scoring as a player.
  • Read More
  • Playing poker within hockey

  • By Andy Blaylock 05/24/2020, 2:30pm CDT
  • Hockey trainer Andy Blaylock examines how the methodical card game of skill and chance applies to the world's fastest team sport.
  • Read More