skip navigation

Jack Peart wins Mr. Hockey, Jack Wieneke takes home Brimsek Award

By Peter Odney , 04/05/21, 5:00PM CDT


The Grand Rapids defender and Maple Grove goaltender were presented with the season-ending awards at a banquet on Monday afternoon.

All 13 finalists for the Mr. Hockey and Frank Brimsek awards.

Season-ending awards named in Monday's banquet

Peart named 2021 Mr. Hockey 

Peart named 2021 Mr. Hockey 

The Grand Rapids defender led the Thunderhawks to the Class AA, Section 7 finals this season before falling to Andover, posting 11 goals and a team-leading 35 points along the way. Peart is the first Thunderhawk to be named Mr. Hockey since Avery Peterson in 2014.

Over the course of his career, Peart has totaled 32 goals and 88 points in three varsity seasons on the Grand Rapids blue line. He is 2021 NHL Draft eligible and is rated as a 'C' level prospect by NHL Central Scouting.  

Peart is committed to St. Cloud State, and the Fargo Force of the USHL currently owns his junior rights.

Wieneke wins Frank Brimsek Award

Maple Grove goaltender Jack Wieneke has been named the Frank Brimsek Award winner, becoming the first Crimson netminder to win the award. Wieneke backstopped Maple Grove to the Class AA state semifinals, where the Crimson fell in overtime to eventual state champion Eden Prairie. 

Wieneke concluded his senior season with a record of 19-2 and posted a goals-against-average of 1.65 and a save percentage of .916.

Wieneke is currently uncommitted to a college program.  

Grand Rapids's Jack Peart (left) was named Mr. Hockey on Monday, while Maple Grove's Jack Wieneke (right) earned Frank Brimsek Award honors.

2021 Mr. Hockey Finalists

Finalist High School
Carter Batchelder Eden Prairie
Cam Boche Lakeville South
Jackson Hallum St. Thomas Academy
Kyle Kukkonen Maple Grove
Luke Levandowski Rosemount
Luke Mittelstadt Eden Prairie
Henry Nelson Maple Grove
Joe Palodichuk Hill-Murray
Jack Peart (winner) Grand Rapids
Joey Pierce Hermantown

Luke Mittelstadt, Eden Prairie

2021 Frank Brimsek Finalists

Finalist High School
Aksel Reid The Blake School
Alex Timmons Gentry Academy
Jack Wieneke (winner Maple Grove

Aksel Reid, The Blake School

Mr. Hockey Past Winners

Year Receipient High School
2020 Blake Biondi Hermantown
2019 Bryce Brodzinski Blaine
2018 Sammy Walker Edina
2017 Casey Mittelstadt Eden Prairie
2016 Riley Tifte Blaine
2015 Jake Jaremko Elk River
2014 Avery Peterson Grand Rapids
2013 Grant Besse Benilde-St. Margaret's
2012 Justin Kloos Lakeville South
2011 Kyle Rau Eden Prairie
2010 Nick Bjugstad Blaine
2009 Nick Leddy Eden Prairie
2008 Aaron Ness Roseau
2007 Ryan McDonagh Cretin-Derham Hall
2006 David Fischer Apple Valley
2005 Brian Lee Moorhead
2004 Tom Gorowsky Centennial
2003 Nate Dey North St. Paul
2002 Gino Guyer Greenway
2001 Marty Sertich Roseville
2000 Paul Martin Elk River
1999 Jeff Taffe Hastings
1998 John Pohl Red Wing
1997 Aaron Miskovich Grand Rapids
1996 Dave Spehar Duluth East
1995 Erik Rasmussen St. Louis Park
1994 Crowley Bloomington Jefferson
1993 Checco Bloomington Jefferson
1992 Bonin White Bear Lake
1991 Hendrickson Richfield
1990 Dziedzic Minneapolis Edison
1989 Klatt Osseo
1988 Larry Olimb Warroad
1987 Kris Miller Greenway
1986 George Pelawa Bemidji
1985 Tom Chorske Minneapolis Southwest

Blake Biondi, 2020 Mr. Hockey Award winner

Frank Brimsek Award Past Winners

Year Receipient High School
2020 Hudson Hodges Moorhead
2019 Charlie Glockner Minnetonka
2018 Atticus Kelly St. Thomas Academy
2017 Jake Begley Hill-Murray
2016 Nick Althaus St. Cloud Apollo
2015 Dylan Lubbesmeyer Burnsville
2014 Hunter Shepard Grand Rapids
2013 David Zevnik St. Thomas Academy
2012 Michael Bitzer Moorhead
2011 Alex Lyon Lake of the Woods
2010 Zane Gothberg (McIntyre) Thief River Falls
2009 Casey O'Connor Bloomington Jefferson
2008 Joe Phillipi Hill-Murray
2007 Reid Ellingson Cloquet-Esko-Carlton
2006 Austin Lee Bloomington Jefferson
2005 Alec Richards Breck
2004 Matt Lundin Apple Valley
2003 Jon Anderson White Bear Lake
2002 Josh Johnson Cloquet-Esko-Carlton
2001 Eric Aarnio White Bear Lake
2000 Jake Brant Roseau
1999 Adam Laaksonen Cloquet-Esko-Carlton
1998 Adam Coole Duluth East
1997 Kyle Kolquist Duluth East
1996 Karl Goehring Apple Valley
1995 Todd Kelzenberg Blaine

Charlie Glockner (left), 2019 Frank Brimsek Award winner

About the Awards

Founded in 1985, the Mr. Hockey Award is presented to the outstanding high school senior hockey player in the state of Minnesota by the Minnesota All Sports Alliance (formerly the Minnesota Minutemen).

Mr. Hockey is announced and the finalists honored at an annual banquet sponsored by the Minnesota Wild.  

The recipients are reviewed and selected by a group of National Hockey League scouts, Division I coaches, Division III coaches and USHL scouts.

An annual award given to the top high school goaltender in the state of Minnesota is given in Brimsek's honor. Brimsek, who won 252 games, held the record for winningest American-born netminder until Tom Barrasso of the Pittsburgh Penguins broke his long-held record on February 15, 1994 by beating the Winnipeg Jets.

Courtesy of the Minnesota Minutemen 

Recent MN YHH News

  • 11 Minnesotans invited to NTDP eval camp

  • By Peter Odney 05/11/2021, 4:00pm CDT
  • From a Stillwater native who skated for the Nashville Jr. Predators last season, to a goaltender from the tiny town of Sherburn, there's a lot to like about this year's crop of Minnesota invitees.
  • Read More