skip navigation

2021 Goalie of the Year Finalists

By YHH Staff , 04/06/21, 8:15PM CDT


The Goalie of the Year finalists are selected through a process that includes staff observations and coach recommendations.

Aksel Reid, The Blake School

2021 Boys GOTY Finalists

Chase Bjorgaard, Edina Peewee AA

Will Arnold
Moorhead Squirt A

Arnold helped lead Moorhead to a sparkling 29-3 record this season while earning runner-up honors at the 2021 Squirtacular. All three of the losses the Spuds had on the season came by two goals or less.

Chase Bjorgaard
Edina Peewee AA

Bjorgaard put an exclamation point on the Edina PWAA season with a lights-out performance in the Hornets' state championship victory over Osseo-Maple Grove in Albertville. Bjorgaard stopped more than 25 shots in the title game, and helped the Hornets finish 34-0-1 on the season. 

Dane Couture
Little Falls High School

Couture isn't armed with multiple Division I verbal commits on his blue line, but the senior posted some of the state's best numbers in Class A while playing nearly every minute of the 2021 season for the Flyers. Couture finished the year with a .923 save percentage while leading the Flyers to their first appearance in the Class A State Tournament since 2012.

Wayzata's Mason McElroy

Cash Cruitt
Andover PeeWee AA

Cruitt guided the Huskies to victory in arguably the state's toughest PeeWee AA Region, a territory loaded with four top-10 teams and deep benches. Cruitt's play throughout the season allowed the Huskies to skate to a 3-0 record in overtime games. 

Owen Lunneborg 
Bloomington Jefferson Peewee AA

One of the most athletic goalies we saw all year, who seemed to change the game in every game we saw. He earned Tournament Most Valuable Player honors during this year's Founder's Cup while leading the Jaguars to the championship, then sparked the Jags on a run to fourth place at the Peewee AA State Tournament. 

Mason McElroy 
Wayzata Bantam AA

Do you want the clutch factor? McElroy has it in spades. The Trojans' netminder backstopped Wayzata to a surprise run en route to the Bantam AA state title, winning five straight one-goal games to close region play and in all three state tournament matchups. Despite being outshot by nearly a two-to-one margin stopping 131 shots and only allowing four goals.  McElroy's play enabled the Trojans to top Osseo-Maple Grove in overtime of the state championship game. 

Aksel Reid 
The Blake School

A varsity mainstay since he was in the eighth grade, Reid was a finalist for the state's Frank Brimsek Award, annually given to the state's best high school senior goaltender. Reid won 63 games in his time with the Bears to go along with 13 career shutouts. Reid recorded a .927 save percentage during the 2021 season.   

Bloomington Jefferson's Owen Lunneborg

2021 Girls GOTY Finalists

Suri Langley, Proctor-Hermantown 12A

Uma Corniea
Edina High School

It wouldn't be March without Uma Corniea playing in a state tournament. The Edina netminder played in her fourth straight state title game last weekend (fifth if you count the PWA state title game as a sixth grader), leading the Hornets with 30 saves to a 2-1 win over top seed and No. 1 ranked Andover in the championship game. After missing the first three games of the 2021 season with an injury, Corniea won 16 straight games and finished with a goals-against-average of 0.87, a save percentage of .957, and seven shutouts. Corniea is verbally committed to Princeton. 

Layla Hemp
Andover 15A

A 1-0 win over plucky upstart Rosemount, a 3-0 victory over Osseo-Maple Grove, and an 8-3 win over Minnetonka Blue resulted in a state championship for Hemp, who helped the Huskies to a perfect 44-0 record this season. Hemp and the Huskies allowed just 15 goals over the course of those 44 games, and posted 31 shutouts. 

Hailey Krieg
Moorhead Black 12B

Krieg's Spuds lost just twice during the 2020-2021 season, with both losses being by a single goal. Krieg's play helped Moorhead to a consolation championship at the 12B State Tournament, where after suffering a heartbreaking 1-0 loss to Minnesota River in the quarterfinals, the Krieg and the Spuds rebounded with a 3-0 win over Stillwater White and a 3-1 win over Eveleth-Gilbert-Virginia-Mesabi East. She had 18 shutouts in 38 games, a 0.81 goals against average and a .981 save percentage on the season.

Hailey Krieg, Moorhead 12B

Suri Langley 
Proctor-Hermantown 12A

Langley is equipped with the best pads in the state, and has the chops to back them up. Langley backstopped the Mirage to a 38-6-1 record and took the team to the 12A state final, where the Mirage were edged 4-3 by Edina. Five of the Mirage's six losses came by a single goal, including three against the loaded Edina squad. 

Hailey Hansen
Blaine High School

Hansen earned a nomination for the YHH Girls High School Player of the Year Award based on her performance this season, which included facing over 600 shots while earning a save percentage of .924 and three shutouts. Hansen played nearly 950 minutes this season for the Bengals, who advanced to the Class AA, Section 5 championship game before falling to Centennial.  

Jordan O'Kane
Alexandria High School

The junior goaltender led Alexandria, seeded third in Section 8AA, to the Class AA State Tournament, winning all three section playoff games by a single goal while upsetting No. 2 seed Brainerd/Little Falls and top-seeded Roseau in the section final. O'Kane stopped 41 of 42 shots in the win over the Warriors before making 37 saves in the win over the Rams. 

Her reward for stellar section play? The No. 3 seed in the Class AA State Tournament, Minnetonka. O'Kane kept the unseeded Cardinals in the game and then some, with Alexandria forcing double-overtime with a late third-period goal. Minnetonka's Kayley Crawford scored in the second extra season for the win, but O'Kane stole the show with 57 saves on 59 shots. 

Jordan O'Kane, Alexandria High School

Past Winners

2018 Winner - Skylar Vetter

Player Team Level
2020 Ben Dardis Mahtomedi BHS
2020 Uma Corniea Edina GHS
2019 Isaiah Paulnock Eden Prairie PeeWee AA
2019 Olivia King Brainerd GHS
2018 Sklyar Vetter Lakeville North Bantam AA
2017 Uma Corniea Edina PeeWee A
2016 Konrad Kausch Duluth East PeeWee AA
2015 Carsen Stokes Prior Lake PeeWee AA
2014 Zach Stejskal Grand Rapids Bantam AA

2014 Winner - Zach Stejskal

Recent MN YHH News

  • 11 Minnesotans invited to NTDP eval camp

  • By Peter Odney 05/11/2021, 4:00pm CDT
  • From a Stillwater native who skated for the Nashville Jr. Predators last season, to a goaltender from the tiny town of Sherburn, there's a lot to like about this year's crop of Minnesota invitees.
  • Read More