skip navigation

2021 BHS Player of the Year

By Peter Odney , 05/01/21, 12:45PM CDT


Maple Grove's Kyle Kukkonen caps a remarkable prep career with 2021 award.

2021 BHS Player of the Year - Kyle Kukkonen

Kukkonen first Maple Grove player to earn POTY honors

Kyle Kukkonen finished second in the state in scoring this season with 74 points.

Kukkonen has enjoyed one of the most decorated careers from youth to preps in recent memory, capturing state championships as a Peewee, Bantam, and making back-to-bacl consecutive Class AA State Tournament appearances at the high school level. Kukkonen's Crimson reached the state semifinals this season, falling to eventual state champion Eden Prairie in overtime.  

Named the Minneapolis Star-Tribune's Metro Player of the Year as a senior, Kukkonen finished second in the state in scoring with 31 goals and 74 points, bringing his career totals to 61 goals and 145 points. Kukkonen recorded those impressive numbers despite missing all but seven games of his senior season with an injury. 

Kukkonen was nominated as a finalist for the 2021 Mr. Hockey Award. 

Kyle Kukkonen after the Osseo-Maple Grove Leafbirds won the 2018 Bantam AA state championship.

2021 YHH BHS Player of the Year Candidates

Player High School Class
Jackson Hallum St. Thomas Academy Senior
Kyle Kukkonen Maple Grove Senior
Luke Mittelstadt Eden Prairie Senior
Jack Peart Grand Rapids Senior
Zam Plante Hermantown Sophomore

BHS Player of the Year Past Winners

Year Player Team
2016 Casey Mittelstadt Eden Prairie
2017 Casey Mittelstadt Eden Prairie
2018 Sammy Walker Edina
2019 Bryce Brodzinski Blaine
2020 Matt Gleason Cretin-Derham Hall
2021 Kyle Kukkonen Maple Grove

2020 BHS Player of the Year, Matt Gleason of Cretin-Derham Hall.

Recent MN YHH News

  • 11 Minnesotans invited to NTDP eval camp

  • By Peter Odney 05/11/2021, 4:00pm CDT
  • From a Stillwater native who skated for the Nashville Jr. Predators last season, to a goaltender from the tiny town of Sherburn, there's a lot to like about this year's crop of Minnesota invitees.
  • Read More