skip navigation

Danglefest: All-Tournament Teams and Highlights

By YHH Staff , 01/13/22, 5:15PM CST


All-Tournament Teams for all six levels, plus this year's tournament highlight video.

2022 Danglefest Highlight Video

2022 Danglefest Best Of's

Luverne completed a come-from-behind win over Minnetonka in the 12B Division championship.

Best Game 
12B Championship

This year's Danglefest 12B championship game was a rematch of a pool-play contest, in which Luverne escaped Minnetonka 5-4 in regulation. 

The title game took on a different tone, with Minnetonka taking a 2-0 midway through the third period and seemingly having the upper hand in all facets of the game. 

Undeterred, the Cardinals roared back, tying the game with 2:52 left in the third period to force overtime and subsequent shootout.

The Cardinals came out on top in the shootout, thanks primarily to the goaltender play of Brynlee Lass. Even more impressive, Lass is technically the Luverne association's 10B goaltender, playing up with the 12B's. 

Best Uniforms 
Bemidji 12A

Navy-and-white is a combination older than dirt, but pulling it off in a way that feels both classic and new is a tall task for most hockey teams. 

The Bemidji Lumberjacks compliment the classic colors with "Jacks" in script with a bold line underneath. Couple those aspects with a number on the upper-left corner of the jersey, and you have a recipe for a uniform that shouldn't need upgrades for years to come.   

Bemidji 12A sporting the cleanest look of the Danglefest.

Best Shot
Sara David (Eden Prairie 15B)

Some shots you hear and know they're just...different. 
Eden Prairie's Sara David has a rocket launcher attached to her stick, and uses it to fire missiles at opposing nets.

David used her cannon-blast shot to finish second among all Eagles skates with four goals during the tournament. 

Best End-to-End Rush
Wayzata 12A

Over the weekend, the Trojans introduced themselves as one of the top 12A teams in Minnesota, winning all four games they played and capturing the 12A title with a 3-2 victory over Minnetonka. 

During the championship game against the Skippers, the Trojans may have swapped their skates for skis and their sticks for ski poles. Starting in their own end, the Trojans engaged in the best end-to-end rush of the tournament, bobbing and weaving together as one unit against the Skippers. 

Like Russian ballet star Anna Pavlova, the Trojans' 200-foot journey is something you had to see to believe.  

Best Reaction 
Teddy Bears

Each year at the Danglefest, there is an invasion. 

A fluffy, fluffy invasion. 

Teddy bears awarded to Players of the Game (one from each team) littered the lobby areas of the Pure Hockey Super Rink in Blaine, with bears lurking on tables, in dark corners, in buckets, and in penalty boxes. 

The bears are always a hit with the players, and the only thing better than earning Player of the Game honors is taking home the bear as a keepsake.  

The Wayzata Trojans captured the 12A championship in part to their ability to rush the puck end-to-end.

2022 Danglefest All-Tournament Teams

10A All-Tournament Team

Lainey Lindsay, Minnetonka 10A

Angelina Alvarez Wayzata Goalie
Hazel Werry Edina Goalie
Vivian Helferich Edina Defense
Keely Huh Chaska/Chanhassen Defense
Lydia Joseph Wayzata Defense
Avery Wagner Centennial/Spring Lake Park Defense
Carmen Benedict Shakopee Forward
Lainey Lindsay Minnetonka Forward
Audrey Nichols (MVP) Chaska/Chanhassen Forward
Ella Olsen Chaska/Chanhassen Forward
Hannah Rychley Forest Lake Forward
Ella Sauter Edina Forward

Ella Sauter, Edina 10A

10B All-Tournament Team

Madelyn Fitzgerald, Shakopee 10B

Player Team Position
Keeley Kohnen Minnetonka Goalie
Rylee Tiefenbach Rochester Goalie
Rachel Connolly Woodbury Defense
Emma Fitzgerald Shakopee Defense
Reese Vix Woodbury Defense
Brooklynn Zitzloff Minnetonka Defense
Madelyn Fitzgerald Shakopee Forward
Willow Harens Rochester Forward
Janie Jorgenson (MVP) Woodbury Forward
Sydney Larson Woodbury Forward
Brezlin Overmann Chaska/Chanhassen Forward
Palmer Prosser Chaska/Chanhassen Forward

Willow Harens, Rochester 10B

12A All-Tournament Team

Talla Hansen, Wayzata 12A

Player Team Position
Emma Matack Wayzata Goalie
Tyler Jabs Minnetonka Goalie
Noelle Noble Wayzata Defense
Emery Lang Minnetonka Defense
Audrey Davis Edina Defense
Lucy Solheim Bemidji Defense
Delaney Miller Minnetonka Forward
June Semling Champlin Park-Coon Rapids Forward
Julia Gerdes Andover Forward
Brynn Heising Wayzata Forward
Bailey Rupp Bemidji Forward
Talla Hansen Wayzata Forward

Julia Gerdes, Andover

12B All-Tournament Team

Camille Woods, Minnetonka 12B

Player Team Position
Brynlee Lass Rochester Goalie
Sydney Petersen Minnetonka Goalie
Annika Drews Minnetonka Defense
Makayla LaPierre Moose Lake Area Defense
Alexa Myers Andover Black Defense
Kennedy Saarloos Luverne Defense
Tenley Behr Luverne Forward
Emily Collins Andover Gold Forward
Izzy Steensma (MVP) Luverne Forward
Ellie Van Batavia Luverne Forward
Piper Winters Mankato Forward
Camille Woods Minnetonka Forward

Makayla LaPierre, Moose Lake Area 12B

15A All-Tournament Team

Charlotte Theirl, Edina White 15A

Player Team Position
Taylor Thomopson Forest Lake Goalie
Mackenzie Abbott Edina (White) Goalie
Scarlett Erlandson Edina (White) Defense
McKenna Borene Forest Lake Defense
Maci Szybatka Woodbury Defense
Olyvia Erickson Hastings Defense
Sydney Burnevik Champlin Park-Coon Rapids Forward
Charlotte Theirl Edina (White) Forward
Abigail Sklavenitis Forest Lake Forward
Calla Forys Woodbury Forward
Ella Perreault Forest Lake Forward
Addy Cowan Andover Forward

Sydney Burnevik (17), Champlin Park/Coon Rapids 15A

15B All-Tournament Team

Esme Nelson, Eden Prairie 15B

Player Team Position
Esme Nelson Eden Prairie Goalie
Claire Toebect Grand Rapids-Greenway Goalie
Leah Lobsinger Eden Prairie Defense
Nina Hofstad Grand Rapids-Greenway Defense
Claire Rieder Hastings Defense
Ava Herr Grand Rapids-Greenway Defense
Sienna Moe Eden Prairie Forward
Ruby Kuhn Rosemount Forward
Abby Skelly Grand Rapids-Greenway Forward
Sara David Eden Prairie Forward
Lauren Cichos Moorhead Forward
Ryleigh Sherlock Grand Rapids-Greenway Forward

Grand Rapids-Greenway 15B placed four players on this year's Danglefest 15B All-Tournament Team.

Recent MN YHH News

  • Her Ice: Season 5, Episode 6

  • By Peter Odney 12/07/2022, 2:10pm CST
  • Featuring Don 'Auggie' Erdall, coach of Apple Valley. Pick 'ems, upset special, last week's scores, and a tough talk with Tony.
  • Read More