skip navigation

2022 Wiz Wyatt Award Winner: Nolan Fitzhenry

By YHH Staff , 05/18/22, 6:30AM CDT


Andover forward led a young Huskies squad to 25 wins during the 2021-2022 season.

2022 Wiz Wyatt Award Winner - Nolan Fitzhenry

Fitzhenry's offense nearly led Huskies to Peewee AA state tournament

2022 Winner - Nolan Fitzhenry

Checking the Andover Peewee AA team box scores after games became routine after a while - there would typically be a crooked number of points next to Nolan Fitzhenry's name. 

A pure goal-scorer, Fitzhenry powered the Huskies to 25 wins on the season and took a young team to within a single goal of appearing in the Peewee AA State Tournament. Despite falling in the Region final 3-2 against Mahtomedi, Fitzhenry's six-goal tourney performance was a consistent theme in the retelling of events from the Region Tournament's location in Stillwater. 

Fitzhenry put on a show each time he stepped on the ice during the 2021-2022 season, but it's not simply his hockey ability that made him a finalist - and then a winner - of this award. 

A 4.0 student at Gentry Academy in Vandals Heights, Fitzhenry also dominates the lacrosse field, carrying his scoring ability over to the turf as well as the ice. 

"Not only is Nolan one of the most talented kids I've seen at this age, but he is also a great leader and an even better teammate. He is extremely selfless and mature in the way he carries himself," Andover Peewee AA Head Coach Ian Ecklund said.

"Great players have the ability to bring it every night, and Nolan does exactly that. I'm honored to have had the privilege to coach him the past two years and can't wait to see where his hockey career takes him."

2022 Wiz Wyatt Finalists

Boomer Demars, Mahtomedi

Player Team
Wyatt Cullen Moorhead
Boomer Demars Mahtomedi
Nolan Fitzhenry Andover
Luca Jarvis Stillwater
Sammy Nelson Osseo-Maple Grove

WIz Wyatt Award Past Winners

2019 Winner - Drew Stewart

Year Player Team
2021 AJ Francisco Hermantown
2020 Andrew O'Neill Fargo
2019 Drew Stewart Minnetonka
2018 Zam Plante Hermantown
2017 Brody Lamb Dodge County
2016 Kyle Kukkonen Osseo-Maple Grove
2016 Landen Gunderson* Osseo-Maple Grove
2015 Matt Gleason St. Paul
2015 Tyler Haskins* Rochester
2014 Ben Brinkman Edina
2014 Brock Faber* Osseo-Maple Grove
2013 Jack Olsen Lakeville South
2013 Grant Slukynsky* Warroad
*Squirt Winners

Wiz Wyatt (left) and 2020 Wiz Wyatt Award winner Andrew O'Neill

About the Award

Each year YHH watches hundreds of games, hosts tournaments all over the state, and collects some great information on thousands of players. There are so many great stories of so many great kids. 

In 2013, we began handing out the Wiz Wyatt Player of the Year Award as a way to recognize players for athletic, academic and leadership achievement. Our criteria for the award is pretty simple. 

  • The player must be an outstanding player (top 1%)
  • The player must be a great student and leader.
  • The player must be a multi-sport athlete.

The award is NOT given to the best player in the state. When you read the accomplishments of Wiz Wyatt, you will see that he was a rare and talented athlete who was respected both on the field, in the locker room and in the classroom. I was fortunate to have been coached by Wiz, and he was a tremendous balance of teacher, mentor and friend. 

Wiz Wyatt was a highly-decorated three-sport star at Minneapolis West in the early 1970's. After graduating from West, he went on to Harvard and played hockey for the Crimson for his collegiate career. Post-graduation, Wiz coached youth hockey in Minneapolis and Edina both as a non-parent and parent volunteer. He currently lives in Edina with his wife Jane and is the father of four adult children Susan, Mary, Michael, and Jessie.

Recent MN YHH News

  • "I just have to be Leo Gruba"

  • By Peter Odney 07/03/2022, 1:00pm CDT
  • The unorthodox defenseman, a product of the storied Hill-Murray program, looks ahead to this year's NHL Draft with confidence - and without denying who he is as a player.
  • Read More