skip navigation

2022 Bantam Player of the Year: Sam Laurila

By YHH Staff , 05/17/22, 7:30PM CDT


The Moorhead defenseman became the rare Bantam selected to play for the National Team Development Program's Under-17 team next season.

2022 Bantam Player of the Year - Sam Laurila (Moorhead)

Laurila will take his talents to the NTDP U-17 team next season

The moment everything changed for Sam Laurila's hockey development didn't come during the 2021-2022 regular season. 

Yes, his Spuds went 47-5-5. They captured the Bantam AA state championship while outscoring their opposition 311-89 and were generally seen as one of the most talented Bantam AA teams in recent memory. 

Laurila was at the forefront of that season, earning co-Most Valuable Player honors during November's Battle for the Blue Ox in Moorhead while ranking near the top of the Spud lineup in scoring.

His strong play continued through the dead of winter and into the spring. In mid-March, Laurila was invited to try out for the National Team Development Program's Under-17 team, and a few weeks later, he was selected to the final roster. 

Laurila's play last season made him the strongest candidate for the 2022 Bantam Player of the Year Award, and YHH wishes him the best of luck sporting the NTDP U-17's red, white, and blue.  

Laurila was named co-MVP of the 2021 Battle for the Blue Ox after tallying five goals and 13 points in four games.

2022 Bantam Player of the Year Finalists

Cameron Kirschner, Wayzata

Player Team
Mikey Berchild Minnetonka
Mason Jenson Rogers
Cameron Kirschner Wayzata
Sam Laurila Moorhead
Mason Moe Eden Prairie

Mason Jenson, Rogers

Bantam Player of the Year Past Winners

2021 Bantam Player of the Year, Teddy Townsend

Year Player Team College Commitment
2021 Teddy Townsend Eden Prairie N/A
2020 Zam Plante Hermantown Minnesota Duluth
2019 Max Burkholder Chaska Chanhassen Colorado College
2018 Kyle Kukkonen Osseo-Maple Grove Michigan Tech
2018 Brock Faber Osseo-Maple Grove Minnesota
2017 Jake Braccini Buffalo St. Thomas
2016 Ethan Frisch Moorhead North Dakota
2015 Gavin Hain Grand Rapids North Dakota
2014 Casey Mittelstadt Eden Prairie Minnesota
2013 Ryan Zuhlsdorf Edina Minnesota

Recent MN YHH News

  • "I just have to be Leo Gruba"

  • By Peter Odney 07/03/2022, 1:00pm CDT
  • The unorthodox defenseman, a product of the storied Hill-Murray program, looks ahead to this year's NHL Draft with confidence - and without denying who he is as a player.
  • Read More