skip navigation

Brock Faber wins 2014 Wiz Wyatt Award

By Tony Scott, 04/10/14, 1:00PM CDT


Dynamic scorer Faber from Osseo Maple Grove takes home the prize + The Other 45

Brock Faber, 2014 Wiz Wyatt Player of the Year

The top Squirt hockey team in Minnesota this year was Osseo Maple Grove. A player you noticed most from their All Star cast was Brock Faber. Faber, who lined up at just about any position was effective as both a goal scorer and a playmaker. His was paired with Justin Janicke and Kyle Kukkonen this year for the Crimson. That line was not only very productive from a goals perspective, but what was most impressive they were very unselfish. This group of three has lost very few games as Mites, Squirts and over the Summer - which means they have had their share of goals and limelight. So at a young age, they have figured out that getting the "W" is more important than getting another goal. Each of the three had their share of the limelight this year. Janicke was the MVP of the Squirtacular. Faber was a force in the Fargo International. And, Kukkonen had a great end of year tournament at the Regional Tournament of Champions in St. Louis Park.

Besides the undefeated season, what separated Faber from the other players was his ability to make big plays in big games. Some times "big play" doesn't mean a goal or an assist. With his team facing a five on three in the Squirtacular Final versus White Bear Lake, Faber easily anchored the OMG defense and helped kill off the the two man disadvantage. 

In addition to being a great hockey player, Brock excels at Baseball and Football in the off season. Congratulations to Brock, his teammates and coaches on a great season.

Brock Faber with his buddies Justin Janicke and Kyle Kukkonen (Members of the Other 45).

The Other 45

Here is our list of the other 45 players that we thought were worthy of recognition but not Wiz Wyatt finalists. Editor's Note: Faber, Charlie Lindberg, Joe Palodichuk, Lleyton Roed, and Jack Smith were finalists for the Wiz Wyatt - they round off the top 50 players in Minnesota. Goalies were omitted from this list. Our Reebok/CCM Goalie of the Year Award will recognize goalies from all levels (Squirt B to Bantam AA) the coming weeks.

Player Team/Hometown
Carter Batchelder Eden Priaire
Owen Baumgartner Owatonna
Matt Beaty Prior Lake
Jackson Bisson Edina
Cam Boche Lakeville South
Jackson Borst Edina
Max Burkholder Chaska Chanhassen
Brady Burton Jefferson
Kole Chupka East Grand Forks
Cody Croal North Branch
Tommy Devereaux Woodbury
Aydyn Dowd Hermantown
Ethan Elias Osseo Maple Grove
Damon Furuseth Roseau
Damon Gardner Warroad
Gavin Gunderson Roseau
Max Hamstad Centennial
Lucas Hand St. Louis Park
Jack Harvey North Branch
Cullen Hiltner St Cloud
Drew Holt Eden Prairie
Justin Janicke Osseo Maple Grove
Mitchell Krebsbach Mound Westonka
Kyle Kukkonen Osseo Maple Grove
Brody Lamb Dodge County
Gavin Lindberg Fergus Falls
Chaz Lucius White Bear Lake
Cruz Lucius White Bear Lake
Marc Lund Edina
Luke Mittelstadt Eden Prairie
Hunter Newhouse Minnetonka
Jack Novak Apple Valley
Evan Pahos Edina
Landon Parker East Grand Forks
Jack Peart Grand Rapids
Zach Reim Mounds View
Brandon Reller Osseo Maple Grove
Luke Roelofs Mound Westonka
Braeden Sanders Chaska Chanhassen
Ian Simonich Moorhead
Bennett Soderberg Shakopee
Ryan Sweeney White Bear Lake
Cal Thomas Osseo Maple Grove
Nick Williams Edina
Jared Wright Apple Valley

Recent MN YHH News