skip navigation

Kukkonen takes home the '16 Wiz Wyatt

By Tony Scott, 04/13/16, 3:45PM CDT


OMG Center eclipses 100 points and wins state title

Kyle Kukkonen scores earlier this year

Kyle Kukkonen was named the 2016 Wiz Wyatt Winner on Ten Minutes with Tony Scott. Kukkonen had over 100 points on the season and helped lead Osseo Maple Grove to the state championship in Grand Rapids. A prolific player who was a valuable asset to his team in all areas of the ice. His coach Curtis Janicke remarked during the awards interview that Kyle was the "best player who lead by example." 

Kukkonen joins a nice list of past Wiz Wyatt winners Jack Olsen (Lakeville South, 2013), Ben Brinkman (Edina, 2014) and Matt Gleason (St. Paul, 2015). The Wiz Wyatt award is handed out each year to a player who is a great player, leader and a multi-sport athlete. Wiz Wyatt is a former Harvard hockey letterman who was all-state in three sports in high school while starring for Minneapolis West. 

Kyle Kukkonen, 2016 Wiz Wyatt Winner

Recent MN YHH News

  • Learn To Play Hits BIG

  • By Peter Odney 04/18/2018, 6:00pm CDT
  • The program responsible for introducing children to the sport took over Bloomington Ice Garden for an afternoon.
  • Read More
  • Wiz Wyatt Award Winner

  • By Tony Scott 04/17/2018, 12:45pm CDT
  • Zam Plante of Hermantown earns Wiz Wyatt after guiding his Hawks to a state runner-up finish.
  • Read More
  • YHH Goaltender of the Year

  • By Tony Scott 04/17/2018, 11:45am CDT
  • Skylar Vetter was the backbone of the Lakeville North Bantam AA team all season, and is committed to Minnesota.
  • Read More
YouthHockeyHub YHH YouthHockeyHub