skip navigation

Landen Gunderson wins '16 Wiz Wyatt Award

By Tony Scott, 04/13/16, 5:00PM CDT


OMG speedster lead #1 team in scoring

Landen Gunderson, Osseo Maple Grove

Landen Gunderson was named the 2016 YHH Wiz Wyatt winner on Wednesday's Ten Minutes with Tony Scott. Gunderson was a top player for number one rated Osseo Maple Grove as they won every game but one over the course of 40 game season. A great two-way player who plays great defense and is very unselfish with the puck. OMG head coach said during the interview that "Landen's passion for the game is what made coaching him so special." In the off-season Landen is a great baseball player. 

Gunderson joins a nice lis of former winners of the award; Grant Slukynsky (2013, Warroad), Brock Faber (2014, Osseo Maple Grove) and Tyler Haskins (2015, Rochester). The Wiz Wyatt award is handed out each year to a player who is a great player, leader and a multi-sport athlete. Wiz Wyatt is a former Harvard hockey letterman who was all-state in three sports in high school while starring for Minneapolis West. 

Landen Gunderson scores in championship game of YHH Squirtacular

Recent MN YHH News

  • 2024 Girls Goalie of the Year

  • By YHH Staff 04/20/2024, 4:00pm CDT
  • The Hill-Murray netminder backstopped the Pioneers to this year's Class AA state championship game, and will take her talents to the Ivy League next season.
  • Read More
  • Something no one can take away

  • By Peter Odney 04/17/2024, 12:30pm CDT
  • Originally from Grand Rapids, Justin Kerr found his confidence - and Division I interest - first on the outskirts of St. Louis and then in the North American Hockey League.
  • Read More
  • 2024 AHCA Awards

  • By Peter Odney 04/12/2024, 2:15pm CDT
  • Bennett Morgan, Roger Godin, and Keith Hendrickson were honored in St. Paul by the American Hockey Coaches Association for their contributions to the sport.
  • Read More