skip navigation

2022 Boys Goalie of the Year: Austin Brauns

By Peter Odney , 05/13/22, 7:45AM CDT


The senior goaltender led Andover to its first Class AA state championship in boys hockey this season.

2022 Boys Goalie of the Year - Austin Brauns

Brauns won 22 games in his first season as the Huskies' starting goaltender

Senior goaltender Austin Brauns had little to say during Andover's Cinderella run to the 2022 Class AA state title, despite participating in a postgame press conference. 

More comfortable with actions than words, Brauns let his play do the talking. 

In his first season as the Huskies' starting goaltender, Brauns earned a record of 22-5-1, with three of the five losses coming by a single goal. Most importantly, Brauns won his last six games, all postseason contests, as the Huskies eked out one thrilling victory after another. 

Brauns faced 135 shots during the state tournament, turning away all but eight for a gaudy State Tournament save percentage of .944. For the season, Brauns' save percentage was an impressive .929, in addition to a 1.78 goals-against-average and five shutouts. 

As of this writing, Brauns remains uncommitted to a college program, but like his surprise 2021-2022 season, his situation could change rather quickly if his play continues on this trajectory.   

Austin Brauns led Andover to the 2022 Class AA state championship, where he stopped 46 of 51 shots in a double-overtime win over Maple Grove.

2022 Boys Goalie of the Year Finalists

Hudson Ferrie, Moorhead

Player Team Level
Alex Beaton Edina Peewee AA
Austin Brauns Andover BHS
Ben Dardis Mahtomedi BHS
Jack Erickson Hill-Murray BHS
Hudson Ferrie Moorhead Peewee AA
Finn Hanson Warroad Peewee A
Tate Metcalf Bemidji Bantam AA
Cody Niesen West St. Paul Bantam AA
Lucas Norman Edina Peewee AA
Kaenen Smith Duluth East Peewee AA

Kaenen Smith, Duluth East PWAA

Boys Goalie of the Year Past Winners

2014 Winner - Zach Stejskal

Year Player Team Level
2021 Mason McElroy Wayzata Bantam AA
2020 Ben Dardis Mahtomedi BHS
2019 Isaiah Paulnock Eden Prairie Peewee AA
2016 Konrad Kausch Duluth East PeeWee AA
2015 Carsen Stokes Prior Lake PeeWee AA
2014 Zach Stejskal Grand Rapids Bantam AA

Recent MN YHH News

  • In the low, low country

  • By Peter Odney 05/18/2022, 2:00pm CDT
  • Armed with players from almost every corner of the state, the 2009 Team Minnesota Girls took Charleston by storm.
  • Read More