skip navigation

The Incomers: Bemidji State and Minnesota Duluth (NCAAW)

By Peter Odney , 09/23/22, 12:00PM CDT


A former Warroad star transfers closer to home, plus the Chisago Lakes pipeline to Duluth continues to deliver.

Bemidji State

Geno Hendrickson will join the Bemidji State lineup after transferring from Franklin Pierce.

Geno Hendrickson 
Hometown: Warroad 
2021-2022 Team: Franklin Pierce University 

The lone Minnesotan newcomer to the Bemidji State lineup is the former Warroad High School star Geno Hendrickson, who piled up the points - and accolades - over 142 games with the storied Warrior program. 

A two-time captain of the Warriors, Hendrickson was named All-State three times in her prep career, totaling 122 goals and 298 points while leading the Warriors to five consecutive Class A State Tournament appearances.

During the 2021-2022 season, Hendrickson skated for Franklin Pierce, a relatively new Division I program in New Hampshire. During her time in the Granite State, Hendrickson tallied five goals and 11 points in 24 games. 

Hendrickson will join a Beavers’ roster that features 15 other Minnesota natives. Younger sister Talya is verbally committed to the Beavers for the 2023-2024 season. 

Talya Hendrickson, Geno's younger sister, will join the Beavers after her senior season in Warroad.

Minnesota Duluth

Dai Brunette scored 22 goals last season for Chisago Lakes, helping the Wildcats to the Class A, Section 4 championship game.

Dani Brunette 
Hometown: Ham Lake
2021-2022 Team: Chisago Lakes 

Brunette tallied 58 goals and 127 points in 100 career high school games, starting at Blaine before transferring to Chisago Lakes for her junior and senior seasons. As a senior, Brunette netted 22 goals and totaled 46 points as the Wildcats advanced to the Class A, Section 4 finals before falling to South St. Paul. 

In the 2021 Section 5 final, Brunette played a pivotal role in sending the Wildcats to their first state tournament appearance since 2012, scoring in overtime to lift her squad to victory over a deep and talented Orono squad. 

Brunette was selected to compete at USA Hockey National Select 15 and Select 18 camps in 2020 and 2022, respectively.

Lindstrom native and former Chisago Lakes star Dani Burgen has twice represented Team USA on the international stage, competing with the Under-18 national team in 2020 and 2022.

Dani Burgen 
Hometown: Lindstrom 
2021-2022 Team: Chisago Lakes 

A known commodity both in Minnesota and nationally for what seems like forever, Burgen will be the third Wildcat to travel north and skate for the Bulldogs, joining 2021 graduate Jenna Lawry and Dani Brunette, as mentioned above. 

Burgen played six seasons of varsity hockey for Chisago Lakes, leading the Wildcats to the Class A State Tournament semifinals in 2021 and the Section 4A championship game in 2022. In 152 high school games, Burgen scored 130 goals and added 129 assists for a total of 259 points. She is one of just four players in Wildcat history to eclipse 200 career points. 

On the international stage, Burgen captained Team USA to a silver medal at last June’s IIHF Under-18 Women’s World Championships. This year was Burgen’s second sent with the U18 national team, helping the United States to a gold medal at the 2020 tournament.

Burgen initially committed to Minnesota State before switching to the Bulldogs last season. 

Brunette and Burgen won't be the only former Wildcats on the Minnesota Duluth roster. 2021 graduate Jenna Lawry (pictured above) skated in 30 games last season for the Bulldogs.

Recent MN YHH News

  • 2024 Girls Goalie of the Year

  • By YHH Staff 04/20/2024, 4:00pm CDT
  • The Hill-Murray netminder backstopped the Pioneers to this year's Class AA state championship game, and will take her talents to the Ivy League next season.
  • Read More
  • Something no one can take away

  • By Peter Odney 04/17/2024, 12:30pm CDT
  • Originally from Grand Rapids, Justin Kerr found his confidence - and Division I interest - first on the outskirts of St. Louis and then in the North American Hockey League.
  • Read More
  • 2024 AHCA Awards

  • By Peter Odney 04/12/2024, 2:15pm CDT
  • Bennett Morgan, Roger Godin, and Keith Hendrickson were honored in St. Paul by the American Hockey Coaches Association for their contributions to the sport.
  • Read More