skip navigation

2023 NTDP Projections for 2007 MN DOB

By Tony Scott , 03/13/23, 11:00AM CDT


Approximately 10 MN skaters get chosen every year to tryout for "The Program" Check out our best guess for 2023

Another year, another flock of Minnesotans invited to Plymouth

Moorhead's Sam Laurila jumped from the Spuds' Bantam AA team to the NTDP's Under-17 squad.

Each spring, after the glory of the boys' high school state tournament has faded just a little, USA Hockey releases its annual list of players invited to try out for the National Team Development Program's Under-17 team.

As the hotbed of amateur hockey in the United States, Minnesotans generally populate a significant portion of the tryout roster, along with players from Massachusetts and Michigan. Last season, nine players were invited to the tryout, with seven eventually making the team and accepting a place on the roster. 

The players invited last season ranked from a Bantam (Moorhead's Sam Laurila) to a sophomore in high school that had won a Class A state championship (Hermantown's Max Plante). This year's U-17 team features four Minnesotan defenders and three forwards.
Brendan McMorrow, John Whipple, Will Skahan, Logan Hensler, and Brodie Ziemer make up the rest of the Minnesota contingent on this year's U-17 team.  

The invited players are typically split into two teams for the duration of the tryout process. The players participate in on-ice practices, off-ice workouts, and scrimmage in the evenings. Along the way, the players will learn about the program and what it can offer them, should they be invited to the team and accept the offer.  

Here is a list of the 10 players we suspect will be invited and 10 others who we think will get heavy consideration by the scouts and braintrust at USA.

The 10 Who Will Be Invited

Garrett Lindberg, Moorhead HS

Player Position Hometown 2022-2023 Team
Conrad Fondrk Forward Vadnais Heights Mount St. Charles 15O
Jacob Kvasnicka Forward Plymouth Wayzata HS
Garrett Lindberg Defense Moorhead Moorhead HS
Mason Moe Forward Eden Prairie Eden Prairie HS
Maceo Phillips Defense Wayzata Benilde-St. Margaret's HS
Cullen Potter Forward Minneapolis Dallas Stars Elite 16U
KJ Sauer Forward Andover Andover HS
Cooper Simpson Forward Shakopee Shakopee HS
Sam Spehar Forward Chaska Sioux Falls Power 16U
Mason West Forward Edina Edina HS

Cooper Simpson, Shakopee HS

10 Others Who Will Be Considered

Danny Klaers, Minnetonka HS

Player Position Hometown 2022-2023 Team
Ryder Betzold Forward Farmington Gentry Academy HS
Owen Chartier Forward Excelsior Windy City Storm 15O
Parker Deschene Forward Monticello Rogers HS
Mason Jenson Forward Rogers Rogers HS
Gavin Katz Forward Dellwood Shattuck-St. Mary's 15O
Danny Klaers Defense Minnetonka Minnetonka HS
Gavin Kor Forward Rochester Shattuck-St. Mary's 15O
Jacob Rombach Defense Spring Lake Park Spring Lake Park HS
Cooper Siegert Forward Shakopee Shakopee HS
Carson Steinhoff Defense Shakopee Shakopee HS

Gavin Kor, Shattuck-St. Mary's 15O

Recent MN YHH News