skip navigation

Blue Ox 2023: All-Tournament Teams and Highlights

By YHH Staff, 11/21/23, 12:30PM CST


2023 Blue Ox Highlight Video

Finn Spehar, Minnetonka

Best Offensive Performance 
Finn Spehar, Minnetonka

Narrowing down the field of contenders in this category proved a difficult task, what with Connor Schubert racking up five goals in one game and a handful of other hat tricks in the mix. However, the gravity of what Finn Spehar pulled off in Minnetonka's win over Rosemount gave him the edge.

Spehar turned the tournament's Friday night slate upside-down, factoring into three goals in the final 2:45 of the Skippers' tilt against the Irish. Spehar's inspired play allowed the Skippers to return from a 5-3 deficit and move on to the quarterfinals of the tournament's Black Bracket. 

Best Goaltending Performance 
Brock Alford and Maverick Kuhl, Wayzata 

Measuring goaltending success during a tournament is often difficult, to say the least. Shot totals vary depending on who is in the penalty box; sometimes goalies switch mid-game, and no one notices, and there always seems to be some sort of battle over how many "shot attempts" should be counted as "shots on goal."

So, when parsing through scoresheets and stat lines from the weekend, the numbers pushed out by Alford and Kuhl were nothing short of impressive. While winning three out of four games, the duo never allowed more than three goals in a single contest, proving critical to the success of the Trojans, who tied for the second-lowest goal output in the 24-team field. 

Best Comeback 
Stillwater Bantam AA

Could it be any other group? Down 5-2 with 1:13 to play in regulation, Stillwater mounted a wild comeback, scoring three times to force overtime before falling in the fifth period. Jonah Johnston, Luca Jarvis, and Lane Powers powered the resurgence, each scoring once during the barrage.  

Best Celebration 
Osseo-Maple Grove Bantam A

After recording two goals and an assist in the championship game against Moorhead, Osseo-Maple Grove's Sam Jacobson was the frontrunner for the tournament's Most Valuable Player award, building on his hat trick in the semifinals and leading the field in scoring with eight points. 

As the Bantam A All-Tournament Team was being announced, with the MVP traditionally being broadcast over the public address system last, Jacobson's Leafbird teammates began to pound him on the shoulders excitedly before cheering as his name was called. 

Seeing teammates be genuinely excited for other teammates is good for the soul. 

Jonah Johnston, Stillwater

2023 Blue Ox Bantam AA All-Tournament Team

Gabe Swenson, Hermantown

Player Team Position
Brock Alford/Maverick Kuhl Wayzata Goaltender
Domnick Crocker/Jayden Larson Fargo Freeze Goaltender
Hudson Ferrie Moorhead Goaltender
David Isaacson/Owen Salomons Lakeville North Goaltender
Tate Batchelor Stillwater Defense
Aven Bredvik West Fargo Defense
Reece Clayton Fargo Freeze Defense
Eddy Dropps Centennial Defense
Gavin Karl Minnetonka Defense
Finn Paulsen Moorhead Defense
Drew Simonich Moorhead Defense
Gabe Swenson Hermantown Defense
Cale Carey Warroad Forward
Wyatt Cullen (MVP) Moorhead Forward
Pashka Goryachev Moorhead Forward
Devin Jacobs Sartell Forward
Luca Jarvis Stillwater Forward
Lane Larson Sartell Forward
Kole Lendzyk Hermantown Forward
Gavin Lind Prior Lake Forward
Jace Panzer East Grand Forks Forward
Lane Powers Stillwater Forward
Connor Schubert Rosemount Forward
Finn Spehar Minnetonka Forward

Connor Schubert, Rosemount

2023 Bantam A Blue Ox All-Tournament Team

Hank Stuemke, White Bear Lake Bantam A

Player Team Position
TJ Neill/Jack Wegleitner White Bear Lake Goaltender
Will Sadler/Jackson Juhlin Blaine Goaltender
Mark Stienessen Osseo-Maple Grove Goaltender
Parker Deraney Detroit Lakes Defense
Jacob Hamel Osseo-Maple Grove Defense
Grady Huotari Moorhead Defense
Ben Sorenson Minnetonka Defense
Conner Copeland Moorhead Forward
Mason Deraney Detroit Lakes Forward
Sam Jacobson (MVP) Osseo-Maple Grove Forward
Jack Johnson Minnetonka Forward
Chace Kalka Grand Forks Red Forward
Ryne Richau Grand Forks Blue Forward
Bo Skelton Minnetonka Forward
Finn Starkey Osseo-Maple Grove Forward
Hank Stuemke White Bear Lake Forward

Finn Starkey, Osseo-Maple Grove Bantam A

Recent MN YHH News