skip navigation

GHS: About Last Night (Feb. 9)

By Peter Odney , 02/09/24, 2:30PM CST


Appetizer-sized recaps of all 12 Class AA and Class A Section playoff games.

Her Ice: 2024 Section Preview

Class AA

Samantha Angellotti, Andover

Class AA

No. 1-7AA Andover 8, No. 8-7AA Duluth 0 

Seven goal-scorers, nine shots allowed, and running time to start the third period? Sounds like a coach’s dream to me. The strength of this Andover team lies in its defense, a battle-tested group whose play matches the moment. 

No. 2-7AA Grand Rapids-Greenway 5, No. 7-7AA Northern Tier 0 

Speaking of coach’s dreams, the Lightning staff must be delighted to see a 5-0 win in section play where Mercury Bischoff only appears in the goal column once. Mira Rajala, Ryleigh Sherlock, Taelyn Pomplun, and Kylie DeBay scored once in addition to Bischoff’s single tally. 

Shouts: Northern Tier goaltender Mackenzie Baumgardt had 40 saves on 45 shots. 

No. 3-7AA Blaine 2, No. 6-7AA Elk River 1 

Going 0-6 on the power play and still winning is a magic trick from the Criss Angel handbook.

Colleigh Johnson opened the scoring for Blaine, Bella Doll answered for Elk River, then Abbey Costa netted the eventual game-winner for the Bengals at the 8:39 mark of the third period. The Bengals move on to face Grand Rapids-Greenway, a team they lost to 2-1 during the regular season. 

No. 4-7AA Anoka 2, No. 5-7AA Forest Lake 1 

Goaltending showcase for Forest Lake’s Taylor Thompson and Anoka’s Gretchen Paaverud, whose legend grows by the day in the northern suburbs. Paaverud out-dueled Thompson last night, stopping 26 of 27 shots and getting a pair of goals from Gabriela Gilberto to eke out a one-goal win over the Rangers. Ava Gentz scored the lone goal of the game for the Rangers, and Thompson stopped 30 of 32 shots. 

Kylie DeBay, Grand Rapids-Greenway

CLass A

No. 3-8A East Grand Forks 11, No. 6-8A International Falls 0 

To date, the section playoffs’ third-largest margin of victory features East Grand Forks, which scored six times in the second period to pull away from International Falls last night. Blake Schultz topped the sprig list with three goals and six points for the Green Wave. Maggey Plante and Laura Pesch scored two goals apiece for EGF, and single goals came from Mckinley Isakson, Sophia Lukach, Braylee Rasmussen, and Madilyn Jamieson. 

No. 4-2A Hutchinson 2, No. 5-2A Minnesota River 1 

The first period featured all the scoring there was to be had last night, as Jolynn Hauan scored twice for Hutchinson with a Minnesota River goal from Zetta Haugen sandwiched between Hauan’s tallies. The Tigers now face top-seeded River Lakes in the semifinals, a team they lost to 3-2 on Nov. 21. 

No. 3-2A Litchfield-Dassel/Cokato 4, No. 6-2A Mankato West 0 

It was close, then it was less close, and then it was over. LDC scored once in the first, once in the second, and then put two nails in the coffin in the third for a 4-0 win over the Scarlets. Krista Tormanen, Bella Struck, Ellery Cziok, and Camryn Iverson scored for LDC, and Stella Hillmann handed out three helpers. 

Shouts: Mankato West goaltender Alayna Smith made 62 saves, marking her sixth game with 40 or more saves this season. 

No. 4-3A Windom 4, No. 5-3A Fairmont 1 

Victoria Robillard scored twice, and Reagan Haugen and Madyson Fredin scored once apiece for Windom in last night’s win. Karissa Newville scored the only goal for the Cardinals, but Fairmont has apparently produced another goaltending standout after having one of its own selected in the NHL Draft last summer in Carsen Musser. Ilana Moeller stopped 51 of 55 shots in the loss. 

No. 2-6A Northern Lakes 7, No. 3-6A Morris/Benson Area 0 

True to its nickname, the Northern Lakes Lightning struck hard and fast last night, scoring three times in the first and second periods en route to a 7-0 win over the Morris/Benson Area Storm. Kiana Landt and Ava Marta led all skaters in scoring during the Weather Bowl, as Landt dished out a trio of assists and Marta registered a goal and two helpers as the Lightning got two goals from Natalie Stueven and one goal each from Jenna Stoerzinger, Karlene Haff, Marta, Myah Reuper, and Corah Meschke.

No. 1-6A Fergus Falls 6, No. 4-6A Prairie Centre 0 

55 saves from Kennedy Lemke wasn’t enough for Prairie Centre, as Fergus Falls scored five times across the second and third periods for a 6-0 victory. Hannah Johnson, Maggie Greenagel, Ella Starzl, Aubree Nelson, Brinly Shot, and Averie Tonneson all scored for the Otters in the win. The victory sends the Otters to the Section 6A championship game due to the four-team section layout. 

No. 4-8A Thief River Falls 4, No. 5-8A Detroit Lakes 0 

An efficient win for the Prowlers over the Lakers. Quinnlyn Kenfield, Parker Olsonawski, Lila Dalager, and Kali Knutson all scored for TRF, which had won seven regular-season games coming into last night’s contest. The Prowlers have just four seniors on the roster, and the future is brighter than it appears in Pennington County. 

No. 3-3A New Ulm 8, No. 6-3A Worthington 0 

It’s official - New Ulm’s on a heater. 

The Eagles have now won six straight since losing to Luverne in mid-January, and New Ulm will get a shot at revenge this Saturday when the Eagles make their way to Blue Mound Arena for an 11 A.M. section semifinal. It must be a packed schedule in Luverne to play a win-or-go-home game during brunch. 

Tristan Wolner’s hat trick led the Eagles in scoring, followed by Mya Hornick’s two goals and single scores from Abby Forster, Michelle Smith, and Malorie Anderson. Wolner, Hornick, and Smith each finished with four points in the win. 

Shouts: Worthington goalie Macie Mahlberg stopped 40 of 48 shots.  

Abby Hansberger, Elk River

Recent MN YHH News

  • 2024 Girls Goalie of the Year

  • By YHH Staff 04/20/2024, 4:00pm CDT
  • The Hill-Murray netminder backstopped the Pioneers to this year's Class AA state championship game, and will take her talents to the Ivy League next season.
  • Read More
  • Something no one can take away

  • By Peter Odney 04/17/2024, 12:30pm CDT
  • Originally from Grand Rapids, Justin Kerr found his confidence - and Division I interest - first on the outskirts of St. Louis and then in the North American Hockey League.
  • Read More
  • 2024 AHCA Awards

  • By Peter Odney 04/12/2024, 2:15pm CDT
  • Bennett Morgan, Roger Godin, and Keith Hendrickson were honored in St. Paul by the American Hockey Coaches Association for their contributions to the sport.
  • Read More