skip navigation

GHS: 2024 Class AA State Tournament "The Others"

By Peter Odney , 02/21/24, 7:30PM CST


One player from each team who may not be a household name, but could make an impact during this week's Class AA State Tournament.

Emma Peroutka 

Peroutka is the sixth-leading scorer on the Northfield roster, totaling 13 goals and 25 points after an eight-goal, 18-point campaign last season as an 8th-grader. While the bulk of Peroutka’s points have come in big wins for the Raiders, she is a player to keep an eye on as she grows in the Northfield system and as the standouts ahead of her on the depth chart graduate. 

Ruby Rauk 

Rauk may be the Minnesota girls’ high school hockey equivalent of “Dirty Jobs” host Mike Rowe, considering the junior Quinnipiac commit’s willingness and skill in the “dirty” areas of the ice. Rauk is a pure pest in the offensive zone, and has totaled nine goals and 29 points this season. Those 20 assists include five on the power play. 

Ruby Rauk, Minnetonka

Taylor Krieg 

Still just a freshman, Krieg introduced herself to the rest of the state with an outstanding hat trick in the Irish’s 6-1 Section 3AA final win over Apple Valley. Krieg’s six goals and 13 points won’t make fans frame the stat sheet, but she is a player capable of an offensive explosion and will be a critical piece of this Rosemount program over the next few seasons. 

Taylor Krieg, Rosemount

Sophie Olson 

On a team loaded with current and future superstars, Olson’s versatility stands out on the ice. The sophomore has spent time on the Pioneers’ power play and penalty kill units this season, and can fill virtually any role on offense imaginable - scorer, facilitator, agitator. 

Olson has 12 goals and 30 points this season, a marked jump from her five-goal, 13-point output last year as a freshman. 

Sophie Olson, Hill-Murray

Grace Erickson 
Maple Grove 

Now in her third varsity season on the Maple Grove blueline, Erickson’s point totals have gone up in each of her three years, culminating in career highs in goals (10), assists (23), and points (33) this season. In the Crimson’s wild 6-3 upset of Section 5AA’s top seed Centennial/Spring Lake Park, Erickson had a goal and two assists, and has a pair of credited game-winning goals on her 2023-2024 resume. 

Grace Erickson, Maple Grove

Libby Moe

The freshman defender has been on a recent hot streak for the Hornets, totaling five assists in her last five games, including four in a trio of section playoff games. The second of those, an 8-0 win over Wayzata, was the third game this season in which Moe has registered two or more assists. For the season, Moe has two goals and 16 points. 

Libby Moe, Edina

Avery Kasick 

After a switch to forward after playing defense the last two seasons for the Andover varsity, Kasick has found her stride, netting nine goals, adding 16 assists, and seeing quality time on the Huskies’ power play. A rangy and powerful skater, it will be interesting to see how Kasick progresses as she becomes more comfortable up front. 

Avery Kasick, Andover

Ella Ketring 

Have you ever pulled up to a Starbucks at 5:00 AM, accidentally ordered a large Americano with two extra shots, and then found yourself riding a dragon made of caffeine for the next two hours? Ketring is that Americano, and when she’s locked in, she’s also that dragon. 

A freshman forward brimming with energy, Ketring has 11 goals and 29 points this season for the Rams, including back-to-back three-point outings against Alexandria and Sartell/Sauk Rapids in recent contests. 

Ella Ketring, Roseau

Recent MN YHH News

  • 2024 Girls Goalie of the Year

  • By YHH Staff 04/20/2024, 4:00pm CDT
  • The Hill-Murray netminder backstopped the Pioneers to this year's Class AA state championship game, and will take her talents to the Ivy League next season.
  • Read More
  • Something no one can take away

  • By Peter Odney 04/17/2024, 12:30pm CDT
  • Originally from Grand Rapids, Justin Kerr found his confidence - and Division I interest - first on the outskirts of St. Louis and then in the North American Hockey League.
  • Read More
  • 2024 AHCA Awards

  • By Peter Odney 04/12/2024, 2:15pm CDT
  • Bennett Morgan, Roger Godin, and Keith Hendrickson were honored in St. Paul by the American Hockey Coaches Association for their contributions to the sport.
  • Read More