skip navigation

2024 AHCA Awards

By Peter Odney , 04/12/24, 2:15PM CDT


Bennett Morgan, Roger Godin, and Keith Hendrickson were honored in St. Paul by the American Hockey Coaches Association for their contributions to the sport.

Lou Lamoriello Award - Bennett Morgan

The Lou Lamoriello Award was established by a group of retired college coaches back in 2004 to honor Lou Lamoriello, the former Providence College player, coach and athletic director, who always welcomed former college mentors when he went on to great success in the National Hockey League. The retired coaches wished to recognize a former college hockey player or coach who went on to great personal success following graduation.

In the spirit of the Lou Lamoriello Award, this year's winner followed a successful college hockey career with a decorated professional life. Bennett Morgan of Excelsior played four seasons of hockey for NCAA Division III St. John's University, graduating in 1985 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Economics, then earned his MBA from the University of Minnesota's Carlson School of Management, 

Armed with his education and a can-do attitude, Morgan held several high-profile positions within the Polaris Company. He eventually rose to Vice President of ATVs (the company's largest business) and became President and Chief Operating Officer of the corporation. Morgan held these titles from 2005 to 2016. 

Morgan is currently the Lead Director of Generac Holdings Incorporated, a Trustee for Saint John's University and the College of Saint Benedict, a member of The Carlson School of Management-University of Minnesota Board of Overseers, and a Director for the Minnesota Wild Foundation.

Former Polaris executive Bennett Morgan was honored with the Lor Lamoriello Award on Friday afternoon.

Jim Fullerton Award - Roger Godin

The Fullerton Award was first presented in 1992. It is named after the former Brown University coach and AHCA president and is presented to a non-coach who contributes to the overall well-being of the sport in the United States.

Since 1971, there may not be anyone else who has done more to preserve and promote hockey's history than Roger Godin. 

Originally named the first director of the United States Hockey Hall of Fame in 1971, Godin guided the museum for a decade before branching off into non-sports museums and exhibits during the 1980s and 1990s. The Minnesota Wild hired Godin in 2000 to conceive, curate, and execute exhibits regarding hockey in the state of Minnesota. Godin's work for the Wild can be found on all four levels of the Xcel Energy Center. 

In addition to his museum work, Godin has written two well-regarded books on the sport: Before The Stars: Early Major League Hockey and the St. Paul Athletic Club Team and Red, White, and Blue on Ice: Minnesota’s Elite Teams and Players of the 1920’s, 30’s, and 40’s.

Roger Godin (right) is regarded as one of the greatest historians of United States hockey, and has contributed to numerous research projects regarding the subject.

John Mariucci Award - Keith Hendrickson

The Mariucci Award, named after the iconic Minnesota player and coach, recognizes a secondary school coach and was first given out in 1988.

For more than a quarter-century, Keith Hendrickson coached Virginia High School to hockey glory on his beloved Iron Range. Hendrickson's 26 seasons behind the Blue Devil bench included some of the programs finest moments, highlighted by as 2005 trip to the Class A State Tournament.

Off the ice, Hendrickson's tireless work ethic led to several advancements in the Virginia hockey community, including a second sheet of indoor ice and an in-arena weight room. He worked on the Satellite Training Program, which has become the blueprint for high school hockey's current summer training program. Hendrickson helped develop the STP with Herb Brooks, Jack Blatherwick, and Ted Brill. 

In addition to this year's John Mariucci Award, Hendrickson has received the 2003 Dave Paterson Award and the 2023 Cliff Thompson Award. 

Recent MN YHH News