skip navigation

Hain Chosen Player of the Year - Top 50 Bantams

By Tony Scott, 04/29/15, 9:45PM CDT


Gavin Hain showing off his POTY trophy.

On Tuesday, April 14 Gavin Hain received the YHH Player of the Year Award. The award is given out each year by YHH who enlists a panel of Bantam Coaches who vote each year. This year Hain was our unanimous winner for his great offensive numbers and hard work on both ends of the rink. Hain recored 67 Goals and 52 Assists in 52 games with an incredible +76 plus minus for the Thunderhawks last season. 

In an instant, Hain has the ability to take over a game with his size, speed and determination. Head Coach for the ThunderHawks Mike Heitkamp said of Hain, "Gavin has an incredible compete no other player I've ever seen. The best part is it is not just in games, it is in practice, too."

Hain, a top 2000 birth year player in Minnesota was recently selected to the CCM HP15 Camp in St. Cloud in June. Another nice honor for Hain to be selected with the other top 100 players in the state of hockey his age. YHH say is a shoe in to eventually be selected to skate in the final phase of the HP process in the US National Camp in New York come July. 

Speaking of top players, in addition to the five player of the year finalists. We select 45 other Bantam players who had great seasons at the Bantam level.

Player Team Position District
Five Finalists
Ben Brinkman* Edina Defense 6
Carter Randklev Moorhead Forward 15
Gavin Hain Grand Rapids Forward 12
Hayden Brickner Centennial Forward 10
Tyler Watkins Hermantown Forward 11
The Next 45
Alex Miller Bloomington Jefferson Defense 6
Alex Verbout Roseau Forward 16
Andrew Urban Wayzata Forward 3
Ben Ward MAML Forward 5
Blake McLaughlin Grand Rapids Forward 12
Carter Wagner Centennial Defense 10
Chase Foley Sibley Forward 8
Colin Schmidt Wayzata Forward 3
Connor Bizal Elk River Forward 10
Demetrious Koumontzis Edina Forward 6
Ethan Frisch* Moorhead Defense 15
Hunter Jacobs Bloomington Jefferson Forward 6
Jack Bayless* Minnetonka Forward 6
Jack Evans Brainerd Forward 15
Jack Kennedy Prior Lake Defense 6
Jack Perbix* Elk River Forward 10
Jake Hale* Minneapolis Forward 3
Jake Olson Eden Prairie Forward 6
Joey Gimberlin Sibley Forward 8
Joey Stillings Eastview Defense 8
Jordan Drobinski STMA Forward 5
Jordan Randall Osseo Maple Grove Forward 3
Landon Overbo Moorhead Forward 15
Lewis Crosby Edina Forward 6
Lucas McGregor Centennial Forward 10
Luke Loheit Minnetonka Forward 6
Luke Mobley St. Louis Park Forward 3
Matthew Fischer Brainerd Forward 15
Michael Heitkamp Grand Rapids Defense 12
Mitch McGannon Minnetonka Forward 6
Nate Bordson Eastview Forward 8
Nick Lanigan Duluth East Forward 11
Nick Portz St. Cloud Forward 5
Nolan Westra Moorhead Forward 15
Patrick Schoonover* Eastview Defense 8
Peter Tabor Edina Defense 6
Ryan Elder Minnetonka Forward 6
Ryan Lesko Eden Prairie Forward 6
Ryan Nelson Cloquet Defense 11
Soren Frakie Centennial Forward 10
Taiyo Larson Elk River Defense 10
Thomas Walker Orono Forward 3
Trevor Janicke* Osseo Maple Grove Forward 3
Tyler Borsch Osseo Maple Grove Defense 3
Zach Sjelin STMA Forward 5
*First Year Bantam

Recent MN YHH News

  • Colin Ralph is headed back to the desert

  • By Peter Odney 06/27/2024, 12:30pm CDT
  • The Maple Grove native won a national championship with the Shattuck-St. Mary's Prep team this spring, and will be on hand in Las Vegas as the highest-rated Minnesotan according to NHL Central Scouting.
  • Read More
  • Austin Burnevik's impeccable timing

  • By Peter Odney 06/25/2024, 9:30am CDT
  • After two seasons as a role player for the National Team Development Program, Burnevik exploded for over 70 points last season for the USHL's Madison Capitols.
  • Read More