skip navigation

Gleason takes home Wiz Wyatt POTY

By Tony Scott, 05/03/15, 7:30AM CDT


Star lead team to State title, plus Top 50 PeeWees

Gleason scores in Founder's Cup Final versus Orono.

Matthew Gleason pictured with Wiz Wyatt in April the day he received the award.

In 2014 we selected only one first year player to our Top 50 players, it was Matthew Gleason. His team won state and he played the game as if his opponents were in slow motion. He was invited to play with the other top PeeWees in Minnesota last Fall in the YHH PeeWee Challenge. This is where we first heard things like, "whoever that Highland kid is, he's incredible." Gleason showed up in Bloomington and outscored the field with 8 Goals and 2 Assists earning Tourney MVP honors.

That wouldn't be his last time he would catch our eye. In the Founder's Cup in Hibbing he lead the field in scoring again, notching 16 points in 4 games including scoring a Game Winning Goal against then number 1 Alexandria with no time on the clock. He was named tourney MVP that Sunday. 

In the State Tournament in Lakeville, he lead his team to a repeat state championship and was again named by YHH as the Shock Doctor MVP. The previous two winners of the Wiz Wyatt POTY were Jack Olsen and Ben Brinkman. Those two are now in fine company with Gleason a new member of their club.

While not playing, Matthew is an honor student at Nativity of Our Lord in St. Paul. He also plays Soccer and Baseball. He also considers himself an avid fisherman during the Summer months at his cabin.

Congrats to Matthew and the other four very deserving finalists for the Wizzy. Grayson Hight (Bloomington Jefferson), Christian Miller (Greenway), Will Mortenson (Minneapolis) and Nate Warner (St. Cloud). As we do every year, we name the next 45 skaters to our list to round out the top 50 skaters in the state.

Player City/Team Position
Wiz Wyatt Finalists
Matt Gleason St. Paul Forward
Grayson Hight Bloomington Jefferson Forward
Christian Miller Greenway Defense
Will Mortenson Minneapolis Forward
Nate Warner St. Cloud Forward
The Next 45
Aaron Moore Cloquet Forward
Adam Nobs Mound Westonka Forward
Austen Humphrey Elk River Forward
Ben Dexheimer Edina Forward
Billy Rose White Bear Lake Forward
Blake Biondi Hermantown Forward
Bobby Brink Chaska Chanhassen Forward
Brody Lucas Mankato Forward
Brock Bertelsen Tartan Forward
Caden Triggs Moorhead Forward
Caleb Strong Alexandria Forward
Cam Kluender South St. Paul Forward
Carson Jacobs Bloomington (Jefferson) Forward
Carson Richels Blaine Forward
Carter Johnson Moorhead Forward
Charlie Erickson Duluth East Forward
Charlie Strobel Stillwater Forward
Cole Cavanagh Edina Forward
Connor Kelley Osseo Maple Grove Defense
Drew Holt Eden Prairie Forward
Elliot Van Orsdel Eveleth Forward
Ethan Cumming St. Cloud Defense
Grant Slukynsky Warroad Forward
Griffin Streeter Minnetonka Forward
Jackson Fields Detroit Lakes Defense
Jake Boltman Edina Defense
Jake Huhta Cloquet Forward
Joe Campion Armstrong Cooper Defense
Joe Miller Minneapolis Forward
Joey Pierce Ely Forward
John Buzick Blaine Forward
Kyle Heffron Rosemount Forward
Lucas Jorgenson Orono Defense
Mackie Zabinski Minneapolis Forward
Mitchell Kohner Rosemount Forward
Nick Speltz Prior Lake Forward
Owen Neuharth Prior Lake Forward
Sam Emmerich Prior Lake Defense
Shane LaVelle Chaska Chanhassen Forward
Tyler Oakland Osseo Maple Grove Forward
Vinny Pitoscia Duluth East Defense
Will Magnuson Chaska Chanhassen Defense
Will Svenndal Minneapolis Defense
Wyatt Kaiser Andover Defense
Zach Michaelis Elk River Forward
Zach Mulrenin Wayzata Forward

Recent MN YHH News

  • 2024 AHCA Awards

  • By Peter Odney 04/12/2024, 2:15pm CDT
  • Bennett Morgan, Roger Godin, and Keith Hendrickson were honored in St. Paul by the American Hockey Coaches Association for their contributions to the sport.
  • Read More

Gleason scoring in the State Tourney where he was named Shock Doctor MVP