skip navigation

PeeWee Challenge: Friday Recap

By Tony Scott, 09/19/15, 12:45AM CDT


Edina's Theresa Decesare snipes for the Badgers Friday

Hunter Bischoff scores for the Badgers Friday in Major PeeWee action

Max Burkholder scores for the Buckeyes Friday

Similar to the Major Boys, three of the five teams left the rink with a win and all still have a lot of meat on the bone heading into Saturday's action. The Buckeyes went 1-1 with a hard fought win over the Irish 1-0 on a pretty snipe by Rochester's Mackenzie Rich. The Badgers showed why they are going to be tough team to beat when they outplayed and outscored the Gophers 3-1. Theresa Decesare had a pretty one top shelf short side goal for the Badgers. The Wolverines look to be the team to beat, as they used a balanced attack to beat the Buckeyes 7-3 in the final game of the night at Bloomington Ice Garden. Gretchen Branton netted two goals and added an assist to lead the Wolverines to the win.

Friday Stars

Mackenzie Rich - strong skater with a great two way game. Rich made a lot of plays all over the ice. 

Elsa Kurtz - in showcase events like the PWC, Goalies are often forgotten. Kurtz is a true talent who rarely was out of position or off balance. Made some key saves down the stretch for the Badgers.

Gretchen Branton - a fun player to watch who was always around the puck making plays. Created a lot of opportunities for both herself and her linemates.

Theresa Decesare scores for the Badgers Friday

Recent MN YHH News

  • 2024 Girls Goalie of the Year

  • By YHH Staff 04/20/2024, 4:00pm CDT
  • The Hill-Murray netminder backstopped the Pioneers to this year's Class AA state championship game, and will take her talents to the Ivy League next season.
  • Read More
  • Something no one can take away

  • By Peter Odney 04/17/2024, 12:30pm CDT
  • Originally from Grand Rapids, Justin Kerr found his confidence - and Division I interest - first on the outskirts of St. Louis and then in the North American Hockey League.
  • Read More
  • 2024 AHCA Awards

  • By Peter Odney 04/12/2024, 2:15pm CDT
  • Bennett Morgan, Roger Godin, and Keith Hendrickson were honored in St. Paul by the American Hockey Coaches Association for their contributions to the sport.
  • Read More