skip navigation

Kukkonen takes home the '16 Wiz Wyatt

By Tony Scott, 04/13/16, 3:45PM CDT


OMG Center eclipses 100 points and wins state title

Kyle Kukkonen scores earlier this year

Kyle Kukkonen was named the 2016 Wiz Wyatt Winner on Ten Minutes with Tony Scott. Kukkonen had over 100 points on the season and helped lead Osseo Maple Grove to the state championship in Grand Rapids. A prolific player who was a valuable asset to his team in all areas of the ice. His coach Curtis Janicke remarked during the awards interview that Kyle was the "best player who lead by example." 

Kukkonen joins a nice list of past Wiz Wyatt winners Jack Olsen (Lakeville South, 2013), Ben Brinkman (Edina, 2014) and Matt Gleason (St. Paul, 2015). The Wiz Wyatt award is handed out each year to a player who is a great player, leader and a multi-sport athlete. Wiz Wyatt is a former Harvard hockey letterman who was all-state in three sports in high school while starring for Minneapolis West. 

Kyle Kukkonen, 2016 Wiz Wyatt Winner

Recent MN YHH News

  • Her Ice: 2024 State Preview

  • By Peter Odney 02/19/2024, 5:15pm CST
  • Tony & Peter preview the quarterfinal matchups for AA & A State and then predict what the rest of the tournament will look like.
  • Read More