skip navigation

Kukkonen takes home the '16 Wiz Wyatt

By Tony Scott, 04/13/16, 3:45PM CDT


OMG Center eclipses 100 points and wins state title

Kyle Kukkonen scores earlier this year

Kyle Kukkonen was named the 2016 Wiz Wyatt Winner on Ten Minutes with Tony Scott. Kukkonen had over 100 points on the season and helped lead Osseo Maple Grove to the state championship in Grand Rapids. A prolific player who was a valuable asset to his team in all areas of the ice. His coach Curtis Janicke remarked during the awards interview that Kyle was the "best player who lead by example." 

Kukkonen joins a nice list of past Wiz Wyatt winners Jack Olsen (Lakeville South, 2013), Ben Brinkman (Edina, 2014) and Matt Gleason (St. Paul, 2015). The Wiz Wyatt award is handed out each year to a player who is a great player, leader and a multi-sport athlete. Wiz Wyatt is a former Harvard hockey letterman who was all-state in three sports in high school while starring for Minneapolis West. 

Kyle Kukkonen, 2016 Wiz Wyatt Winner

Recent MN YHH News

  • 2024 Girls Goalie of the Year

  • By YHH Staff 04/20/2024, 4:00pm CDT
  • The Hill-Murray netminder backstopped the Pioneers to this year's Class AA state championship game, and will take her talents to the Ivy League next season.
  • Read More
  • Something no one can take away

  • By Peter Odney 04/17/2024, 12:30pm CDT
  • Originally from Grand Rapids, Justin Kerr found his confidence - and Division I interest - first on the outskirts of St. Louis and then in the North American Hockey League.
  • Read More
  • 2024 AHCA Awards

  • By Peter Odney 04/12/2024, 2:15pm CDT
  • Bennett Morgan, Roger Godin, and Keith Hendrickson were honored in St. Paul by the American Hockey Coaches Association for their contributions to the sport.
  • Read More